Fleming College

skip navigation

Fleming Athletics Celebrates Student Athletes at the Annual Fleming Athletic Varsity Banquet


Peterborough, ON (April 11, 2023) – Fleming College’s student athletes were celebrated during the Annual Fleming Athletic Varsity Banquet Friday, March 31.

In a night full of surprises, former Athletic Coordinator Fred Batley was honoured by former colleague Jane Bolin for his induction into the Ontario College Athletic Association (OCAA) Hall of Fame.

Fleming College also created an award in Batley’s name, to further honour the long-time standing member of the Athletics Department.

The Fred Batley Coaches Award honours current Fleming coaches. Loggersports coach Al Cavers and Rugby Women’s 7’s coach Donnie Maillet were the inaugural recipients this year.

Team Awards were presented to the following student athletes who excelled on their teams:

Cross Country
MVP: Frances Emery
Rookie of the Year: Ainsley Taggett

Men’s Curling
MVP: Nolan Galardo
Rookie of the Year: Cameron Fraser-Freeman

Women’s Curling
MVP: Carissa Stauffer
Rookie of the Year: Kelly Galt

Women’s Volleyball
MVP: Holly Pennings
Rookie of the Year: Zofia Boruta

Men’s Volleyball
MVP: Sam Deschenes
Rookies of the Year: Tim Akers and Calvin Dekok

Female MVP: Alexandra Bennett
Male MVP: Desmond Burman-Martin
Female Rookie of the Year: Madelyn McInnes
Male Rookie of the Year: Jakob Ursic

Men’s Basketball
MVPs: Theon Esseboom and Kyle Shiferaw
Rookies of the Year: Keandre Jackson and Brock Stupar

Women’s Rugby 7’s
MVP: Rachael King
Rookie of the Year: Abby Todd

Women’s Soccer
MVP: Ainsley Taggett
Rookie of the Year: Hannah Vallier

Men’s Soccer
MVPs: Logan Scott and Sahil Bhardwaj
Rookie of the Year: Sam Barker

OCAA All Academic Awards were presented to student athletes who maintained a 3.6 GPA or higher during their season:
Chloe Bender, Amy Browett, Emma Janes, Hollie Phillips, Montana Rank, Abby Todd, Sam Barker, Aaron Molenhuis, Rob Ryan, Pushkar Patel, Maggie Hope, Nicole Nielsen, Breann Maillet-Goodfellow, Zofia Boruta, Keeley Cox, Alexandra Joli-Coeur, Kaitlyn McConkey, Emma Sluggett, Ted Davis, Paul Molay, Nate Stephen, Kaden Bulmer, Leo Arseneault, Jordan Brown, Cameron Butyn, Ethan Johnston, Scott McDonald, Scott Gauer, Blake Fellman, Alexandra Bennett, Claeyr Townsend, Tanya Pelerine, Madelyn McInnes, Brittany Smith- Kelso, Anna Westwood, Sarah D’hondt, Arden Curran, Emma Holder

OCAA Honour Awards were presented to our student athletes based on their athletic performance. Recipients were selected and voted on by other OCAA institutions.

2022 OCAA Women’s Rugby Sevens Championship All Star: Rachael King

2022 OCAA Women’s Rugby Sevens Championship All Star and 2022 OCAA Academic & Athletic Excellence Award: Montana Rank

2022 OCAA Academic & Athletic Excellence Award: Abby Todd

2022 OCAA Women’s Cross Country Second All Ontario Team: Frances Emery

Women’s Cross Country Second All-Ontario Team: Ainsley Taggett

Men’s Volleyball Second Team All-Star: Dion Pearson-Laviolette

The Fleming Athletics All Academic Knight Award is presented to a first-year athlete with a 3.6 GPA or higher. This year’s award recipient is Kaden Bulmer.

This year’s Rachael Spearing Award is presented to a women’s rugby player who demonstrated heart, spirit, sportsmanship, and dedication on the field. This year’s Rachael Spearing Award recipient is Amy Browett.

The Kris Starr Award and Adam Evans Award are each presented to Loggersports athletes who show their heart, spirit, dedication, and love of sport. This year’s awards were presented to:

Kris Starr Award: Matthew Douchant
Adam Evans Award: Ethan Johnston

All-Around Athlete Awards are presented to a male and female athlete who performed at a high level both on and off the field of play. These athletes demonstrate great leadership, commitment, and dedication. This year’s winners are:

Male All Around Athlete of the Year: Stephen Cadamuro

Female All Around Athlete of the Year: Ainsley Taggett

Fleming Athletics Athlete of the Year Awards go to a male and female athlete who performed exceptional achievements within their sports while maintaining academic eligibility. Our 2022-2023 Athlete of the Year awards go to:

Male Athlete of the Year: Scott Gauer

Female Athlete of the Year: Abby Todd

Fleming College and the Fleming Athletics and Recreation department would like to congratulate all our student athletes, coaches and award recipients who showed their dedication and hard work throughout the 2022-2023 varsity season. We would also like to wish all the graduating athletes well as they move on throughout their post collegiate lives.

For media inquiries, please contact:
Sarah Deeth

Communications Officer


705-749-5530 ext. 1161

Web: flemingcollege.ca
Facebook: facebook.com/flemingcollege
Twitter: @FlemingCollege
Instagram: @flemingcollege